Australia's Prime Ministers

From Barton to Howard

By Brian Carroll

Since Federation Australia has had 25 Prime Ministers. Some have towered over their party, Parliament and the national scene. Others have been pushed about by events or their own colleagues even by Parliament. The contest for the Prime Ministership has come to resemble the presidential-style elections of the United States. It is a personality battle between two contenders, not one over ideas, principles, or even parties. Brian Carroll tells of all 25 Prime Ministers ?long time survivors Bob Menzies, Billy Hughes, Joe Lyons, Malcolm Fraser, and Bob Hawke; of three timers Alfred Deakin and Andrew Fisher; of short-timers Earle Page, Frank Forde, and John McEwen. The book contains a chapter on possible future prime ministers - Latham, Costello and Abbott. Brian Carroll is a Melbourne-based freelance writer who has written several books on aspects of Australian history. He has a Master of Arts degree from the University of Melbourne, with honours in Australian history.

328 pages

Publication Date: 7/1/2004
Format: Paper
ISBN: 9781877058226

Temporarily out of stock