The EEA and the EFTA Court

Decentred Integration

Edited by: The EFTA Court

The European Economic Area (EEA) Agreement guarantees the free movement of persons, goods, services, and capital. It also provides fair competition and abolishes discrimination on grounds of nationality in all 30 EEA States: the 27 EU States and 3 of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) States. The successful operation of the EEA depends upon a two-pillar system of supervision involving the EC Commission and the EFTA Surveillance Authority. A two-pillar structure has also been established in respect of judicial control; the EFTA Court operates in parallel to the Court of Justice of the European Communities. The EFTA Court, which celebrates its 20th anniversary in 2014, has jurisdiction with regard to EFTA States which are parties to the EEA Agreement (at present, these are Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway). The jurisdiction of the EFTA Court mainly corresponds to the jurisdiction of the Court of Justice of the European Communities over EC States. This collection reviews the successes and shortcomings of the Court, its interface with EU law, and the prospects for its future development. [Subject: European Law, Competition Law, International Trade Law]

Publication Date: 1/29/2015
Format: Cloth
ISBN: 9781849466264