British Overseas Territories Law

By Ian Hendry, Susan Dickson

This is a manual of law and practice relating to the 14 British overseas territories: Anguilla * Bermuda * British Antarctic Territory * British Indian Ocean Territory * Cayman Islands * Falkland Islands * Gibraltar * Montserrat * Pitcairn Islands * St. Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha * South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands * Sovereign Base Areas in Cyprus * Turks and Caicos Islands * and Virgin Islands. Most, if not all, of these territories are likely to remain British outposts, and many have new constitutional arrangements. This book provides a comprehensive and up-to-date description of the constitutional and international status of these territories, and of the main elements of their modern governance in law and practice. British Overseas Territories Law describes their constitutional position and relationship with the UK, and the book goes on to deal with legislative, executive, and judicial authority and controls; the sources of law; and human rights protection in the territories. It analyzes: defense, security, and emergency powers in the territories; the nationality and status of people 'belonging' to them; their public finance arrangements; their relationship with the European Union; and the conduct of their external relations. It also examines the status of the territories in international law, their relationship with the UK in that context, and the UK's international responsibility for them. It concludes with a description of the means of terminating British sovereignty. An Annex sets out key features of each territory in turn, describing briefly its history, status, constitutional structure, courts, sources of law, and economy.

389 pages

Publication Date: 3/14/2011
Format: Cloth
ISBN: 9781849460194