History of the Middle Temple

Edited by: Richard O Havery

The Honorable Society of the Middle Temple (commonly known as Middle Temple) is one of the four Inns of Court exclusively entitled to call their members to the English Bar as barristers. This book is a history of the Middle Temple, written by a team of eminent lawyers and legal historians. It is the product of original research in the archives of the Middle Temple, and it is a treasure trove of information about the Inn and its diverse history and influence. The history of the Middle Temple is a long and fascinating one. Templars held the estate of the Temple from the 12th century until their suppression in the early 14th century - thereafter the lawyers came. Its magnificent Tudor Hall was completed in 1574. By Elizabethan times, the Inns of Court were known colloquially as the Third University of England and many persons other than lawyers had become members - among them, Sir Walter Raleigh, Elias Ashmole, Edward Hyde (Earl of Clarendon), William Congreve, Henry Fielding, Edmund Burke, William Cowper, and William Makepeace Thackeray. Another Middle Templar was the explorer Bartholomew Gosnold, who discovered Cape Cod, and who named a nearby island Martha's Vineyard in honor of his six-year old daughter. From those beginnings grew the 13 American colonies and, in due course, five Middle Templars signed the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776. Moreover, the US Constitution was drafted by a committee chaired by yet another Middle Templar, John Rutledge who, along with six other Middle Templars, was among its 39 original signatories.

540 pages

Publication Date: 6/10/2011
Format: Cloth
ISBN: 9781841134215