Clinical Negligence

Fifth Edition

Edited by: Anthony Barton, Michael J. Powers

Contributions by: Barry Jackson

Clinical Negligence remains the only text of its kind to cover both medical and legal aspects of UK medical negligence. Written by a team of 54 experts, the book continues to provide the most comprehensive and authoritative guidance on all aspects of clinical negligence claims from bringing an action for damages to presenting expert evidence in court. It also includes detailed consideration of funding and cost implications. Those needing clear updated guidance to make the best possible preparations for an action will find all they need here. Updates in the fifth edition include: the new funding regime under the UK's Legal Aid, Punishment, and Sentencing of Offenders Act 2012 * Montgomery v Lanarkshire * The Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust Public Inquiry ("Francis Report") * Sienkievicz v Greif Bailey v Ministry of Defence on causation * Whetstone v MPS and Woodland v Essex County Council on liability of practices * privatization of funding access to justice in clinical negligence * new costs regime (QOWCS) under Civil Procedures Rules Coroners and Justice Act 2009 and secondary legislation. Clinical Negligence maintains its easy-to-access, two-part structure. The first part, set out in 17 chapters, deals with legal aspects of medical malpractice, including complaints procedures, poor performance and medical professional governance, preparation of medical evidence, settlements, and trial. The final 25 chapters in the second part cover the risks associated with particular areas of specialist medical practice. [Subject: Medical Law, Tort Law]

1536 pages

Publication Date: 9/24/2015
Format: Cloth
ISBN: 9781780434858
List price: $641